Passage from the Bible re Worries

image

Introduction

Out of two choices, this was the passage that seemed to quench the last lickings of my internal mullings and swellings of anxiety.  Unreasoned and irrational, those butterflies of doubt and insecurities seemed to swell like a tide within me. 

I voiced my insecurities to my mother – they were listened to and soothed– but as the tide subsided and the waves abated, the doubts would still make their existence known.  I was cuddled.  I was asked to go accompany to her to church… I know the feeling of going to church.  I didn’t want it to turn into routine.  So, instead of going to mass, I allowed the feeling of peace to overcome me… then I turned to some prayer and the Bible.

Here is the passage…


Do you have worries?

The Holy Bible (New Testament) Chinese and English Bilingual Edition
The Gideons International, Nashville, USA
www.gideons.org

John 16:20—22

20 Most assuredly, I say to you that you will weep and lament, but the world will rejoice; and you will be sorrowful, but your sorrow will be turned into joy.

21 “A woman, when she is in labour, has sorrow because her hour has come; but as soon as she has given birth to the child, she no longer remembers the anguish, for joy that a human being has been born into the world.

22 “Therefore you now have sorrow; but I will see you again and your heart will rejoice, and your joy no one will take from you.”


Leave a Reply

