Lines I picked out from the book “Delirium”

GothIntroduction

I was in a bookshop the other day… actually a few months ago!… and picked out this English Literature of a modern read.  I loved the opening chapters and was wowed by the themes, but found parts really carried away with language and descriptives rather than story pacing.  After all, that is what English Literature is, a type of analysis of language, rather than a blockbuster within pages.

Anyways, here is my pick of some quotables from the book Delirium.


Some quotes from:

Delirium

  • What if love were a disease?

Lauren Oliver, 2011
Hodder & Stoughton, London NW1
an Hachette UK Company
www.hodder.co.uk
copyright © Laura Schecter


  1. She always said she never wanted children in the first place.  That’s one of the downsides of the procedure; in the absence of deliria nervosa, some people find parenting distasteful.  Thankfully, cases of full-blown detachment – where a mother or father is unable to bond normally, dutifully and responsibly with his or her children, and winds up drowning them or sitting on their windpipes or beating them to death when they cry – are few.
    on the side-effects of curing love (p. 7)
  2. Hearts are fragile things.  That’s why you have to be so careful.
    on the suddenness of death by heart attack (p. 8)
  3. If I marry well, in a few years it will mean extra money for the family.  It might also make the whispers go away, singsong snatches that four years after the scandal still seem to follow us wherever we go, like the sound of rustling leaves carried on the wind: Sympathizer.  Sympathizer.  Sympathizer.
    – – on the importance of a well-matched married for the better (p. 10)
  4. ‘Marriage is Order and Stability, the mark of a Healthy society.’
    on the status of marriage within the confines of the world of ‘Delirium’ (p. 10)
  5. I’m glad the choice is made for us.  I’m glad I don’t have to choose – but more than that, I’m glad I don’t have to make someone else choose me.
    – – on Lena’s perceived benefits of the cure (p.24)
  6. It’s comforting to me.  It’s so strange how life works: you want something and you wait and and feel like it’s taking forever to come.  Then it happens and it’s over and all you want to do is curl back up in that moment before things changed.
    – – on the anti-climatic side of life (p.44)
  7. I’ve never gotten over the awkward feeling that I’ve been fitted together just a little wrong in some very key places.  Like I’ve been sketched by an amateur artist: if you don’t look too closely, it’s all right, but start focusing and all the smudges and mistakes become really obvious.
    – – on how Lena feels in comparison to others at her school (p.44)
  8. Sometimes I feel as though there are two me’s, one coasting directly on top of the other: the superficial me, who nods when she’s supposed to nod and says what she’s supposed to say, and some other, deeper part, the part that worries and dreams… Most of the time they move along in sync… but sometimes it feels as though… I could rip apart at any second.
    – – on the struggle between heart and head (p.46)
  9. ‘I guess they think it’s worth the risk,’ Hana says.  ‘Better than the alternative, you know?  Amor deliria nervosa.  The deadliest of all deadly things.’
    – – on the risks of waiting until the permitted minimum age limit of eighteen years old to get cured versus getting cured prematurely (p.48)
  10. ‘The cured, incapable of strong desire, are thus rid of both remembered and future pain’ (‘After the Procedure,’ The Safety, Health, and Happiness Handbook, p. 132)
    – – on the promoted after-effects of a successful cure (p. 50)
  11. I hesitate.  Shaking hands makes me feel awkward, like I’m playing dress-up in an adult’s too-big clothing.  Besides, I’ve never actually touched skin-to-skin with a stranger.
    – – on Lena’s response when first meeting and greeting a boy of her own generation (p.55)
  12. No matter what the regulators do, they exist for our protection, our own good.
    – – on being rumbled by a group of patrolling regulators not long before the enforced curfew time (p.74)

Leave a Reply

