“My Favourite Things”: it *does* give me a muted form of courage… *love* this song.

image

Julie Andrews singing the *magical* tune
Red rose  Star  Red rose  “My Favourite ThingsRed rose  Star  Red rose
from the film The Sound of Music

image

I still remember swinging around and around and around and around and around in circles in the living room when I was a little girl:

      • bewitched by the song,
      • entranced by the pictures and movement on telly, and
      • enthralled by the joy of it all. 

But then strangely, a sense of ‘sobriety’ would descend within me and offer some form of bizarre, muted courage… not the best form, but it was something nonetheless. 

So I guess I have a lovey-likey relationship with this song.  It doesn’t lift me quite as high as “Spoonful of Sugar” from ‘Mary Poppins’… but it makes me more contemplative of my inner feelings and deeper emotions. 

I seem to have some kind of  outlandish connection with this tune… anyways, maybe you’ll find some form of connection with it too, otherwise, just enjoy the sound, the voice and the tunes of this adorable, *golden* classic that crosses time :: forevermore ::

:::::: Note  Lyrics to “My Favourite ThingsNote  ::::::

image

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens;
Bright copper kettles and warm woollen mittens;
Brown paper packages tied up with strings;
These are a few of my favourite things.

image
Cream coloured ponies and crisp apple strudels;
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles;
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings;
These are a few of my favourite things.

image

image

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes;
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes;
Silver white winters that melt into springs;
These are a few of my favourite things.

image

When the dog bites;
When the bee stings;
When I’m feeling sad;
I simply remember my favourite things;
And then I don’t feel so bad
[Repeat all verses]

image

Red heart

…::: My Favourite Things as sung on
The Sound of Music’ (1965)
but with an *adorable* slideshow:::…
uploaded on YouTube.com by beth8896

[ ……wait for the video to load…… ]

:::::: “My Favourite Things” from ‘The Sound of Music’ (1965) sung by Julie Andrews :::::

::..:: Other still photos from the enduring film “The Sound of Music” ::..::

My Favourite Things-Sound of Music1
Picture sourced from a blog entitled “Steps to Grace: faith, hope, love”.

My Favourite Things-Sound of Music2
Picture sourced from a blog entitled “Veganjoy” written by Joy Tienzo of Denver, Colorado, United States who is the author of “Cook, Eat, Thrive: Vegan Recipes from Everyday to Exotic”.

Leave a Reply

